Author Topic: WT500/600/800: stereo/bridge - use all posts without connection  (Read 372 times)

Offline toko42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Hi.

It's quite bothersome to switch cables in a 2U case as at least the bridge connector has the openings on the top.

Would it be a problem to have cables attached to the left and right outputs as well as the bridge output as long as only the cables are connected to speakers which match the position of the stereo/bridge switch?

So there would be cables with speakon or XLR connectors connected to the amp but to speakers only when exactly that output is used.

Many thanks for your help!
 

Online Bassmann1968

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11969
Re: WT500/600/800: stereo/bridge - use all posts without connection
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2019, 04:01:21 AM »
Hi,
that is not a problem, but be careful.
a. to switch mode disconnect the cab(s) and switch the amplifier off
b. NEVER use a output that doesn't fit your selected mode. It will cause failure in your power amp modules.

IMHO, I wouldn't do that. You will not change your setup that often.
Also I would recommend to get a bigger case, or a case that isn't that deep.
Rock on!
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112

Offline toko42

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: WT500/600/800: stereo/bridge - use all posts without connection
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2019, 04:21:50 AM »
That's totally clear!

As long as I had only 8 ohm cabinets, this would not have been a problem but now there's a 4 ohm one in one rehearsal room which I obviously can't power bridged.

Larger case is not an option as the fan of the amp is at the rear.
The case is just a bit longer than the amp and I guess otherwise the rear door wouldn't fit properly...

Thank you very much!
 

Offline Rip Van Dan

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2593
Re: WT500/600/800: stereo/bridge - use all posts without connection
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2019, 06:09:34 PM »
I would be really hesitant to plug all those cables in the back of the amp and hope that you grab the correct one on a dark stage to hook up to your cab.  As Armin mentioned, if you hook up the wrong cable, you're going to cause a failure in your power section, which can be expensive to fix.

Dan
Rip Van Dan
Dan Gracia
'82 US-made Fender Jazz Bass with maple neck
5-string Rogue LX405 Pro (Surprisingly good "no-name" bass)
WT500/800 Highwayman (signature model)
D.N.S 410-8, Eden EX112 x2
Line6 G10s wireless
==
spares:
Eden RS400, GK BK250, BPX115 cab, acoustic B410 cab, Sunn Beta 202 (2x12)