Author Topic: Mains lead fuses blowing  (Read 131 times)

Offline Jellybaby1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Mains lead fuses blowing
« on: January 09, 2019, 04:03:22 PM »
Mains leads to my my WT800 have suddenly started to blow.
Any suggestions please?
Thank you.

Offline Bassmann1968

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11875
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2019, 03:48:49 AM »
Hi JB and welcome to the Garden!

You mean the fuse in the power socket is blown?
Did you replace the fuse? Is it the correct fuse?
Does that happen, when nothing is connected to the amp except the power cord?
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112

Offline Jellybaby1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2019, 04:04:11 AM »
Hi Bassman, thanks.
It's strange, I switch the amp on, it works, I play then I switch off.
A few hours later on again, nothing happens.
I've used it once with headphones in only, this was a few days ago.
But normally connected to an 8 ohm cab, bridged,at home volume.
Thanks for your help,
Will

Offline Bassmann1968

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11875
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2019, 05:08:19 AM »
What rate and characteristic is the fuse?
Did you replace the fuse?
Please answer all my questions.
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112

Offline Jellybaby1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2019, 10:08:42 AM »
Hi, am in the UK with a UK market set up amp. 5A mains fuses are blowing. 10 A mains fuse is not blowing. It seems there are no fuse problems inside the amp.
I am a total non expert electronically.
By the way, which mains fuse should I be using for my WTX500 please?
Thanks, Will

Offline Paulinderwick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1265
    • Jimmy C and the Bluesdragons
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2019, 01:13:32 PM »
It depends on the power taken by the amp which is not the same as the wattage that it puts out.  If 5amp fuses blow, but 10 amp ones don't then it suggests that the power being taken by the amplifier to generate the power that puts out is in excess of 1,000 watts.  If it does then that is why you are blowing a fuse.  This assumes a UK supply around 220 volts.  It sounds as though the fuse in the equipment itself is surviving however which to my mind points towards the wiring in the plug.  Worn wires, bit of a short circuit, blows the fuse.  You replace the fuse and the wiring is jiggled back into contact.  Second possibility is the cable from the mains to the amp - again, worn cable failing, arcing causing the fuse to blow.  Have you tried a different cable?
UK member, WT330, WTX260, 2 x EX112 (both 4 ohm), WTDI, and a Microtour as well as a Roland Super Cube Bass, Blackstar HT5, Fender Jazz '67, Fretless Fender Jazz '70, Burns Barracuda, Epiphone EB-0, Ashbory, Stagg EUB and guitars and ukuleles and a mandolin as well

Offline Rip Van Dan

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2501
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2019, 01:42:51 PM »
Hi Jellybaby1,

Welcome to the Garden!

Dan
Rip Van Dan
Dan Gracia
'82 US-made Fender Jazz Bass with maple neck
5-string Rogue LX405 Pro (Surprisingly good "no-name" bass)
WT500/800 Highwayman (signature model)
D.N.S 410-8
Line6 X2-XDS wireless
=========
spares:
Eden RS400, GK BK250, GK 115 cab, acoustic B410 cab, Sunn Beta 202 (2x12)

Offline TobiasMan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3498
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2019, 03:36:03 PM »
The manual for the WT800C model amp says:


for Europe (@240V/50hz) service, use a 5 amp (5x20mm) GMC /T/Slow Blow fuse.


Always use a Slow Blow or time delay fuse.  Do not use a fast blow fuse.


There should have been a replacement fuse inside the fuse carrier.


Hope this helps.
_________________________________________________________________
NXT5 EUB, MTD 535 Fretless, Tobias Killer B-6, 72 Fender Precision
WTX1000N, WP100 Navigator, QSC PL230, WT500, WTDI, Fender Bassman 10
410XLT, 410XST, Generic bin with 2 15" EVs

Offline Paulinderwick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1265
    • Jimmy C and the Bluesdragons
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2019, 05:25:37 PM »
Tobias - the fuse that is blowing is the fuse fitted in the lead - UK plugs have a three pronged plug and a fuse fitted in the lead itself.  The slow blow fuse is the fuse in the amp which is obviously not blowing. As jellybaby says "5A mains fuses are blowing. 10 A mains fuse is not blowing."  If you're interested here is an article on UK plugs (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets:_British_and_related_types).  So in the UK our eden equipment is double protected by both the fuse in the equipment and the fuse in the plug which is peculiar to the UK type plug as far as I am aware.  Most hardware stores sell plug type fuses in 5amp, 10amp and 13 amp (the maximum ratings).  Because that is the fuse that is blowing, and the amp is protected by it's own fuse which seems not to blowing, my thought is a fault in the wiring of the cable or the plug, that is what I'd look at first.  Here is an explanation "The fuse in a plug is a safety device designed to protect the lead rather than the appliance. It is a deliberate weak link in a circuit which will 'blow' if an electrical appliance or extension lead draws too much current due to either an overload or a fault. The blown fuse cuts off the electricity to stop the lead and appliance from overheating and causing a fire."  US and EU plugs generally are not separately fused which is why I added my two-pennorth (as we say in the UK) - our plugs are different... (https://www.worldstandards.eu/electricity/plugs-and-sockets/) - I belive ours is the only one fitted with a fuse (correct me if I'm wrong).

« Last Edit: January 10, 2019, 05:35:23 PM by Paulinderwick »
UK member, WT330, WTX260, 2 x EX112 (both 4 ohm), WTDI, and a Microtour as well as a Roland Super Cube Bass, Blackstar HT5, Fender Jazz '67, Fretless Fender Jazz '70, Burns Barracuda, Epiphone EB-0, Ashbory, Stagg EUB and guitars and ukuleles and a mandolin as well

Offline Bassmann1968

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11875
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2019, 11:57:53 PM »
Hi,
so you were operating the amp for a while in the UK without any problems.
5A T, the T should be on the fuse as well.
The WTX500 does not have a fuse that a user can change.
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112

Offline Paulinderwick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1265
    • Jimmy C and the Bluesdragons
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2019, 02:48:01 AM »
Armin - a 5A T type fuse is not the sort of fuse fitted to a mains plug in the UK - as explained above the fuse in the mains plug is to protect the cable because of the final ring main we use for electrical circuits here.  the 5A T type is the type of fuse fitted in the equipment and is physically smaller than the mains type fuse fitted in the plug. Plug type fuses are here - https://www.screwfix.com/p/5a-fuse-pack-of-10/78280.  It still sounds to me that there is a fault in the plug or the cable wiring.
UK member, WT330, WTX260, 2 x EX112 (both 4 ohm), WTDI, and a Microtour as well as a Roland Super Cube Bass, Blackstar HT5, Fender Jazz '67, Fretless Fender Jazz '70, Burns Barracuda, Epiphone EB-0, Ashbory, Stagg EUB and guitars and ukuleles and a mandolin as well

Offline Bassmann1968

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11875
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2019, 03:55:37 AM »
Ah, now I get it.
Thanks for the clarification.
Well, simple thing, try the amp on a different circuit.
Get an electrician for the electrical installation.
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112

Offline Jellybaby1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2019, 11:14:56 AM »
Thanks for the very helpful and welcoming notes gentlemen.
I will get a new lead and and am now plugging into the mains via an anti-surge block for added protection.

Happy trails :)


Offline Paulinderwick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1265
    • Jimmy C and the Bluesdragons
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2019, 03:20:16 AM »
Let's hope that cures it... Enjoy
UK member, WT330, WTX260, 2 x EX112 (both 4 ohm), WTDI, and a Microtour as well as a Roland Super Cube Bass, Blackstar HT5, Fender Jazz '67, Fretless Fender Jazz '70, Burns Barracuda, Epiphone EB-0, Ashbory, Stagg EUB and guitars and ukuleles and a mandolin as well

Offline Jellybaby1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Mains lead fuses blowing
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2019, 06:40:11 AM »
Cheers  :)