Author Topic: 4 ohm v 8 ohm 410XLT  (Read 778 times)

Offline BigRaguSF

4 ohm v 8 ohm 410XLT
« on: August 29, 2018, 01:19:32 AM »
New to the forum.

I've been running an Ampeg B2R into my 410 XLT for a few years and just swapped out the Ampeg for a WT800. I've been reading posts that mention a 410 XLT could be either a 4 ohm or 8 ohm. Is that correct? If so, how do I determine what my cab is? Is it as simple as looking at the back panel?

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Cheers!

Offline Bassmann1968

• Administrator
Re: 4 ohm v 8 ohm 410XLT
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2018, 02:47:18 AM »
Hi and welcome to the Garden!

Yes, there is a 4 and a 8 Ohm version of this cab.
And yes, you find the info on the dish in the back.
When you are not sure you can also measure it with a resistance meter. A 8 Ohm cab should show a 6 Ohm resistance and a 4 Ohm cab a 3 Ohm resistance since you only measure DC resistance and not impedance.
You have a 410XLT and never had a look at the back? :D
Rock on!
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112

Offline Rip Van Dan

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2018, 10:27:53 AM »
Hey BigRaguSF,

Welcome to the Garden!

Dan
Rip Van Dan
Dan Gracia
'82 US-made Fender Jazz Bass with maple neck
5-string Rogue LX405 Pro (Surprisingly good "no-name" bass)
WT500/800 Highwayman (signature model)
D.N.S 410-8, Eden EX112 x2
Line6 G10s wireless
==
spares:
Eden RS400, GK BK250, BPX115 cab, acoustic B410 cab, Sunn Beta 202 (2x12)

Offline BigRaguSF

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2018, 07:16:23 PM »
Ha! Yes, I have looked at the back. Was posting from home so good to know when I'm at the studio I can pull the cab out and check. All this is geared toward me getting the right configuration with the WT800 I just bought.