Author Topic: Amp works with multiple cabs but my D410xlt???  (Read 162 times)

Offline GuardianMagnus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Amp works with multiple cabs but my D410xlt???
« on: August 10, 2018, 10:57:08 PM »
I'm never on here as I've had no issues with my rig in 9-10 years of use, till the start of this year when I my Wt1205 started acting up.

On to my issue...

I just got a darkglass Microtubes 900, practiced a few times, no issues, then played a show the other night and the cab (D410xlt) cut out and started making an audible popping once per second or so with no instrument sound.

I tested another amp(ampeg Pf500) with the cab and it was working, slapping da bass cranked!

Now the weirdness...

The darkglass works fine with other cabs, my D210xst and another Peavey cab that was at my rehearsal space.

How does the 4x10 cab work with one head but not another?

note:  The crossover went in the D410xlt over a year ago but I've been playing it with my Wt1205 with no issue till the darkglass.

 I have a new crossover assembly otw but...

 is there any thing deeper I should look into?

 Thanks Mike
« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 09:04:53 AM by GuardianMagnus »
Ibanez SR506L
Eden WT1205/D410XLT(8)/D210XST(8)/Nemesis N10

Offline GuardianMagnus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Amp works with multiple cabs but my D410xlt???
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 09:01:19 AM »
Bump...

I rewrote this and think this is an odd occurrence so curious what you guys might think.

Everyone I've talked to thinks this is strange so just putting it out there

Thanks
Ibanez SR506L
Eden WT1205/D410XLT(8)/D210XST(8)/Nemesis N10

Offline Bob Cruz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3654
Re: Amp works with multiple cabs but my D410xlt???
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2018, 11:10:34 AM »
How did you remove the broken crossover from the circuit?  A crossover without a driver attached to it will, I believe, present a dead short circuit to the amp at the crossover frequency; some amps could handle that and some won't.

Another possibility is that some drivers have been swapped or rewired and the cab's ohms are too low for the Darkglass amp.  Do you know the history of the cab, and/or have you checked its DC resistance with a multimeter?  Bob
Bob Cruz

GB Streamliner 900 and 600 - Peavey USA Cirrus 5 - SX Jazz 5 x2 - BC Rich Mockingbird 5 - Cruz 112 x2 (22 pound flyweight cabs I built) - Kustom 115 D140F - Avatar Neo 112 x 2 - Modded Fender Rumble 40 x2

Offline Bassmann1968

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11827
Re: Amp works with multiple cabs but my D410xlt???
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2018, 03:30:25 PM »
Hi,
my question would be more like, why is the amp working with one cab but not another?
I don’t know your amp, but I guess it has a ClassD poweramp? ClassD poweramps can have problems with different loads seen from the point of capacitive and inductive load view.
Removing the crossover changed that load. I would fix the cab and try again.
Rock on!
Armin

PLEASE LIKE EDEN ON FACEBOOK!!!
No schematics available!!! Don't ask for it.
;)

WTP-Pre,1350,WTX260,WT300/400,WT1000,WTX1000N,NAV,WTDI
D112XLT,D210XST,D410XLT,D810RP,DNS410,DNS112